My Top 5 Resources for Writers

We’re going to look at a few different resources for writers that I’ve found either helpful or very helpful in the past. Finding go-to sources for your work is invaluable, but sometimes hard to find. I only have five to share today, but I hope you find them helpful!

1.  HELPING WRITERS BECOME AUTHORS

I can’t say enough about this blog. It holds a wealth of information that is completely indispensable for you as a writer. Everything from editing to outlining, to grammar to info dumps. Helping Writers Become Authors is an outstanding site, easy to navigate. It is updated with something new every few days or so, and the response rate for those who comment is awesome. Check it out today!

2.  FAITHWRITERS

You’ve probably heard me chat about this place before, but I’m going to say it again – Faithwriters is everything an aspiring writer could dream of. Friendly, helpful critiques, competition, opinions on your work from professional editors, feedback directly from the judges on the quality of your work, help in marketing, encouragement, reading material . . . and a whole lot more.

3.  THESAURUS

Yeah, you read it right. There’s nothing more helpful now and then than to take a “bland” word and find something more . . . appetizing. The online thesaurus is a great site for finding synonyms and antonyms. Plus, while you’re right there, you can check out the next writing resource . . .

4.  THE DICTIONARY

Funny thing, huh? A writer using a dictionary. That’s just weird. Okay, whatever, it’s an invaluable resource. Find new words, nail down definitions, find synonyms, find more new words . . .  Yeah, it’s important. Expand thy vocabulary, ye writer, and ye shall succeed.

5.  THE WRITERSAURUS

This is one I’ve had very little personal experience with, but what I’ve seen from this site looks really, really great. Info on writing, publishing, self-publishing. It looks good. Be sure to check it out. I’ll be looking into more as well, taking a look at different articles and such.

NEED SOME MORE?

Well, there are hundreds out there. Or maybe thousands. Or maybe hundreds of thousands. You’ll find some that work better for you than others. These are my top five. I hope you are able to find use for some of them. Let me know what other resources I’m missing. What are some of your favorites? There are so many out there, one could never pack all the good ones into one blog post.

So tell me, what are your favorites? Have you used any of these five in the past? What was your experience? Share it with us! You’re feedback could help others conquer their writing. Having good, solid, dependable resources is invaluable to any writer, but especially to those just starting out.

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Resources for Writers

  1. I use the thesaurus a crazy amount! 🙂 One of my favorite writing things has been YoungWriter’sWorkship through the site the Rebelution. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

