The Writer’s Tag – Questions for a Writer

Today is going to be fun. Like, it really should be, because we’ve been drowning in rain up here in Maine for a week, and the lack of sunshine is really getting to me. But, hey, that’s what fun blog posts are for, rriigghhtt??

Today, I’m taking part in the writer’s tag, which has been going from blog to blog. By the way, once you’re through with reading this, you will be challenged to do it too!

Here goes.

WHAT GENRES, STYLES AND TOPICS DO YOU WRITE ABOUT?

That’s all over the place. For genres, I typically write fantasy and historical fiction, with a couple contemporary thrown in. Historical and I, we’re BFFs.

Styles? I love writing in Third Person Multiple and First Person, Present Tense. The latter is especially awesome for short stories, if you’re ever interested in trying that out. I love that POV, even if it is a little tricky at times.

Topics? All over the place, but I love capturing two things really no matter what I’m writing. Relationship, be it close or estranged, and redemption. These two things can go a long way. Aside from that, I like writing serious stuff, suspense, action. You know, all those weird things that only weird people – a.k.a authors – know the incredibleness of. 🙂

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING?

Since I was four (and dictating stories about horses and castles to my parents for them to write down), but I got serious about it when I was ten.

WHY DO YOU WRITE?

Uh . . . that’s like asking, “Why do you blink?” Or swallow. Or breathe. Or eat. Or rescue a stray cat. Or get up in the morning. Or . . .  Yeah, you get the picture, right? It’s ’cause you just gotta do it.

WHEN IS THE BEST TIME TO WRITE?

Honestly, I tend to have the most motivation in the mornings and evenings, but that can change daily. Ask me tomorrow.

PARTS OF WRITING YOU LOVE VS. PARTS YOU HATE

LOVE:

  • Writing when I’m “in the zone.”
  • Editing. I LLOOVVEE editing!
  • Outlining.
  • Creating a scene filled with emotional tension, descriptive paragraphs, some action, some revelation . . . when it just comes out right, and you feel it in your soul.
  • Creating characters that make me laugh.

HATE:

  • Doubt.
  • Rewriting, some of the time. Other times, it’s really good.
  • Looking for typos. That’s not part of editing.
  • Writing on a deadline.
  • First drafts. 🙂

HOW DO YOU OVERCOME WRITER’S BLOCK?

I wait for it to run its course, take a little break and do some outlining. Or I pray about it, or I simply plunge on and write no matter how horrid it comes out. And wow, some of those “writer’s block scenes”? They’re just disgusting. But at least I wrote them down, right?

ARE YOU WORKING ON SOMETHING RIGHT NOW?

Oh, totally. Just finished the first draft of my YA portal fantasy. Now comes the backbreaking chore of starting the rewriting for the second draft. Not looking forward to that. I really need to do some outlining, like, right now. But before that, I’m working on the first draft of the sequel. EEPP! That’s exciting.

WRITING GOALS THIS YEAR?

  • Write the second draft of One Light Shining and submit it for editing.
  • Get in some solid stories for Faithwriters.
  • Write the first draft of the sequel to One Light Shining.
  • Read – because that’s as important as writing.

Goals are often being tweaked. However, I’m looking forward to all of these, and I’ll have some updates on all of them as time goes on.

AND THAT’S IT. NOW IT IS YOUR TURN, MY FRIEND!

Take a minute and rustle up one of these on your blog, even if you’ve only written a few little things in your life! It’s all for fun. Post it and let me know in the comments. Let’s keep the tag going, and I hope wherever you’re at in the world, it isn’t pouring rain. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Writer’s Tag – Questions for a Writer

Leave a Reply

